Middle Eastern Wraps

I was wondering what to do with a package of fresh lamb in the fridge and happened to watch Jamie Oliver making Grilled Lamb Kofta Kebabs on his show over the weekend.  The Single Chef Guy does an excellent recap here.  The grilled kebabs were full flavored and spicy and served on flatbread with some yogurt. I was feeling ambitious and made this delicious Spinach Raita with Toasted Cumin which can be eaten as a side as well as piled on over the kebabs.

The recipe included this delicious relish of thinly sliced onion and parsley lightly pickled with a drizzle of lemon, some sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper. It was bright and zingy and added a penetratingly green herby flavor from the parsley.

Here’s a simple recipe for Naan Bread which requires a bit of time because you have to let the dough sit and rise a couple of times, but it is very do-able. Trust me, if I can do it, anyone can… It cooked quickly on the grill too.

Yum, the finished product, Kofta Lamb Kebab Wrap topped with some of the spinach raita, fresh mint leaves and a good squeeze of lemon juice. The different components of the wrap combined to make a flavorful and fresh tasting dish that blended together really well.


  1. justopia said,

    March 18, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    This looks DEElicious! Now I want this instead of the dinner I was planning, but no lamb and no yogurt.

  2. March 18, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Wow, looks good. Did you have those metal rods like Jamie Oliver! I thought those things looked so dangerous! Ha! You’ve been the real home chef lately!

  3. foodhoe said,

    March 19, 2008 at 12:48 am

    justopia, awww, sounds like you need to go shopping…
    SGC, My skewers are blunt, wobbly, and cute – not very dangerous I’m afraid. You’re right, I have been posting about cooking alot recently!

  4. liz said,

    March 22, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    This looks mighty tasty. Naan is so comforting to eat… I think I’ll try my hand at making some.

  5. March 27, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Oh my word! These look sensational. Especially the raita. I LOVE raita. :)

    I’m going to make these soon. Yum!

  6. foodhoe said,

    March 27, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Liz, the naan was non-intimidating, even for cementbread me… next time I’m putting in more garlic!
    Homecook, the raita recipe is amazing, you’ll be hooked!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

